Published on Feb 02, 2017 by William Webb Ellis

South Africa became the first team to win two tournaments on the 2016/2017 HSBC Sevens World Series with a superb 26-5 Cup Final result against Fiji in Wellington, New Zealand, on January 28th 2017. The knockout rounds were just as entertaining, with the Blitzboks beating Canada 21-5 in the semi finals while Fiji edged Scotland 19-12 in a very close encounter.

Seabelo Senatla had a brilliant weekend being named HSBC Player of the Final, DHL Impact Player and became South Africa’s top try scorer with 180 series tries. Scotland finished third after a thriller with Canada 28-22, while Kenya won the Challenge Trophy after beating Australia 19-17 in a tense clash on a blustery evening in the New Zealand capital.

South Africa hadn’t won in the Westpac Stadium since 2002 and they had to rally after Joeli Lutumailagi opened the scoring for Fiji, but speedster Senatla levelled minutes later. In the second half, Rosko Specman came off the bench to increase the South African lead before two tries from Ruhan Nel sealed their second tournament win this season. Read the full tournament report here.

The draw for Round 4 – which takes place in Sydney, Australia – has been set.

Pool A: South Africa, England, Kenya, Japan

Pool B: Fiji, France, Wales, Samoa

Pool C: Scotland, New Zealand, Australia, Papua New Guinea

Pool D: Canada, Argentina, USA, Russia

Photo Credits: Getty Images & World Rugby

Author Dallen Stanford played on the HSBC Sevens World Series for the United States from 2006-2009 appearing in 13 Tournaments including the 2009 Sevens World Cup in Dubai. He is the Show Host for The Rugby Channel’s weekly highlights, commentates international matches all over the USA, and made his World Rugby TV announcing debut on the HSBC Sevens World Series during the 2016 Las Vegas & Vancouver 7s as well as the Atlanta Women’s 7s that same year.

Category Tag